Smash Your Inhibitions

inhib

Oh, hey, just thought I’d start a blog post with an image for a change. Here’s Liam from One Direction smashing his inhibitions.

So I took the toddler to the aquarium a couple of weeks ago. Partly because I needed to look at something new with my eyes that wasn’t anything to do with laundry or Playmobil and partly because I wanted to try out my new ‘you can walk! we don’t need the pushchair! look at us going into cafés and not being in the way!’ backpack that I’d just swapped the changing bag for. (Spoiler alert: my arm muscles got quite the work-out that day).

We’d been before, every now and then, each time with me hoping that she might at least acknowledge the fish, if not actually enjoy herself. But this time she did! She saw the fish, she named the fish (“sea fwors!” “gally fish!”), she ran up and down the ramps, she danced over the patterns the light and the water made on the floor… and she wanted me to dance too. And I didn’t want to. I felt awkward. There were people around. And however fun and silly I think I am while I’m doing the full dance routine to One Direction’s Best Song Ever in my pyjamas in the mornings while the toddler watches me with a mixture of glee, confusion and concern, I am the worst when it comes to going out of my way to be invisible when in public. I even like the people I am with to be invisible. And yet “Mummy! Dancing!”, she insisted, and it suddenly occurred to me that, even if she had been able to understand an explanation of why I didn’t want to dance, I wouldn’t have wanted to say it to her. Because what an awful thing, to assign negative qualities like embarrassment and self-consciousness to something as innocent and carefree as dancing over the patterns of light. I want her to grow up feeling as free as I feel when I’m dancing around my bedroom. In public. In private. Uninhibited. At least until someone or something else inhibits her. But I don’t want that person to be me, so from now on I’m going to have to try really hard to smash those stupid inhibitions and be the person I want my daughter to see. Starting with bopping really horribly awkwardly over the patterns of light in the aquarium. Honestly. It would have been less cringey if I’d gone all out with the dancing. I’m going to hate every minute of it but I must try harder. For her. And for me too, I guess.

Anyway, overall we had a lovely day. We ate cake. We looked at boats. And then on the way home we got stuck in an excruciating four-hour (FOUR HOUR) traffic jam, ended up having our tea at a deserted service station as bedtime approached, sang 40 minutes of nursery rhymes to stay awake on the home straight and came away from it more bonded than ever. Funny thing, motherhood.

Leave a Reply

